How do you use Python in your lab?

question
python

I have been developing software in Python for over 6 years now. I started first to automate the running of complex programs written in Fortran to simulate industrial processes. Later, out of frustration with LabView in the lab.

I’ve built many command-line tools to perform experiments, lowering the amount of involvement from the user. For example, I was acquiring spectra of particles over time. The routine was quite simple: refocus on a particle, trigger a spectrometer, move to another particle, repeat.

I have also built software for acquiring Cameras, monitoring optical tweezers and controlling devices through the network. Everything in Python.

My biggest struggle was with the lack of documentation of different manufacturers. For example, Hamamatsu camera’s have a common API called DCAM, but its documentation is nowhere to be found. The communication with the camera relies on a DLL that has some strange behavior. For instance, setting regions of interest is limited to even pixels, but it is not documented anywhere.

Anyways, I was wondering how do you use Python in your lab. Have you ever built software for controlling an experiment? With what kind of issues do you deal regularly?

Python is a great tool that help me a lot in many part of my PhD in pharmaceuticals sciences.

• I do many experiments on cells, many protocols need to be slightly modify according to tested pearameters. Python help me to automatise protocole creation by given parameters and I get a properly formated protocole as PDF with every internal parameters calculated according to input parameters.

• Scientific machines gives data with many kind of format as output. Here again, python give me opportunities to format data to the same maners for futher analysis.

• Well, you get your protocol, your perform your experiment, you get back raw results that you format, then you need to analyse your results. I wrote several script for this purpose.